Clickety

ClickerSo when I first got rats, I was partly influenced by the fact that they’re intelligent and trainable – they’re sometimes called pocket dogs, pretty much for exactly that reason. And a couple of days ago I spent £2 in a fit of late-night enthusiasm on a clicker in the hope of beng able to train them to do a few things. (I’m a little bit sore at discovering that one of those jam jar lids with a button would do just as well, but I also admit I’m rather less likely to throw out a colourful plastic knick-knack by accident!)  I’m not hoping for anything as amazing as the stuff in this video:

But it would be great if they’d come when called, and the one where they’ll jump into your hand looks pretty useful as well. And I’m sure I’ll have some creative ideas along the way. Who knows? I have Karen Pryor’s “Don’t Shoot the Dog” on request at the library for some insight about methodology and there are lots of helpful Youtube videos and forum folk about – wish me luck 🙂

4 thoughts on “Clickety

    • The one I’ve had recommended to me is Don’t Shoot the Dog by Karen Pryor – if I have it right she’s the one I think of as the dominatrix dog trainer, all tight leggings and military boots! Apparently it’s mostly about how to click train, not about specific tricks or anything. I’ll be really interested to see how the boys take to it – Pepper’s more alert and more people-focused but also more uptight than Salt, so it’ll be really enlightening to see how he deals with it all.

Leave a Reply

